President Droupadi Murmu to Confer National Geoscience Awards 2022 in New Delhi

The National Geoscience Awards 2022 will be conferred by the President of India, Smt. Droupadi Murmu, at the Rashtrapati Bhavan Cultural Centre in New Delhi on 24th July 2023. The ceremony will be graced by the presence of Shri Pralhad Joshi, Minister of Coal, Mines & Parliamentary Affairs, and Shri Raosaheb Patil Danve, Minister of State for Mines, Coal & Railways.

About National Geoscience Awards

  • The National Geoscience Award is one of the most prestigious awards in the field of geosciences, established by the Ministry of Mines, Government of India, in 1966.
  • Previously known as the National Mineral Awards, these awards aim to recognize individuals and teams for their exceptional achievements and significant contributions in various geoscience fields.
  • Any Indian citizen who has made noteworthy contributions in the specified fields mentioned in Clause-2 of the NGA Regulation 2022 is eligible for these esteemed awards.
  • The awards are presented in various fields, including Mineral Discovery and Exploration, Basic Geosciences, Applied Geosciences and Mining, Mineral Beneficiation, and Sustainable Mineral Development. These fields cover a wide range of geoscience fields, acknowledging exceptional contributions in each domain.


  • National Geoscience Award for Lifetime Achievement
    • The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has made remarkable and sustained contributions in any of the fields mentioned in Clause-2 of NGA Regulation 2022 throughout their career.
    • This prestigious award comes with a cash prize of Rs. 5,00,000/- and a certificate as a token of appreciation for their outstanding achievements.
  • National Geoscience Award
    • The National Geoscience Award is presented to deserving individuals or teams who have made exceptional contributions in any of the fields mentioned in Clause-2 of NGA Regulation 2022.
    • Each recipient of this esteemed award will be honored with a cash prize of Rs. 3,00,000/- and a certificate.
    • In the case of team awards, the prize money will be equally divided among the team members as a recognition of their meritorious achievements.
  • National Young Geoscientist Award
    • The Young Geoscientist Award is bestowed upon exceptional individuals below 35 years of age as of December 31, 2021, who have demonstrated outstanding research work in any field of geosciences.
    • The recipient of this award will be recognized with a cash prize of Rs. 1,00,000/- along with a research grant of Rs. 5,00,000/- spread over five years, subject to yearly progress being satisfactory.
    • Additionally, the awardee will receive a certificate in acknowledgment of their remarkable contributions to the field of geosciences.

National Geoscience Awards 2022

This year, a total of 168 valid nominations were received for the NGA 2022 in various award categories, which underwent a rigorous three-stage screening process. After careful examination, 22 Geoscientists have been selected as recipients of 10 National Geoscience Awards. These awards include one National Geoscience Award for Lifetime Achievement, eight National Geoscience Awards under different fields, and one National Young Geoscientist Award.

  • Dr. Om Narain Bhargava will be honored with the National Geoscience Award for Lifetime Achievement for his pioneering work in the Himalayas, which has spanned over four decades.
  • The National Geoscience Awards consist of a total of 8 awards, which will be given to 20 deserving awardees. These awards include 3 Team Awards, 3 Joint Awards, and 2 Individual Awards.
  • Dr. Amiya Kumar Samal, Assistant Professor of Banaras Hindu University, will receive the National Young Geoscientist Award for his significant contributions to understanding the variation of Sub-Continental Lithospheric Mantle (SCLM) below different Archean cratons of the Indian shield.


Who can nominate candidates for the National Geoscience Awards?

Any individual or organization can nominate candidates for the National Geoscience Awards. The nomination form can be downloaded from the DST website. The nomination form must be submitted to the DST by the deadline.

What are the criteria for selection of candidates for the National Geoscience Awards?

The selection criteria for the National Geoscience Awards are as follows:
The candidate’s contribution to the field of geoscience must be significant and have made a lasting impact.
The candidate’s work must be of high quality and have been published in peer-reviewed journals.
The candidate must be a citizen of India.


  • Shubham Mittal

    Shubham Mittal is a renowned current affairs writer and expert in government exam preparation, inspiring readers with insightful articles and guiding aspirants with his expertise.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top