ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List – From 1975 to 2023

Presented here is a comprehensive list of champions who have triumphed in the ODI Cricket World Cup. The tournament was first introduced in England in 1975, featuring a series of one-day matches with each side playing for 60 overs. In a significant milestone, the 1987 edition was jointly hosted by India and Pakistan, marking the first time the tournament was held outside of England. Furthermore, the 1987 tournament saw a reduction in the number of overs played per side, shortened to 50.

Unprecedented Achievement of Australia in the ODI Cricket World Cup

In a remarkable achievement, Australia became the first team to win three consecutive World Cup tournaments in 2007, out of the twelve held to date. With a total of five victories, Australia stands as the most successful country in the history of the tournament. India and West Indies are the only other nations to have won the World Cup more than once, securing two victories each.

India emerged victorious in 1983 and 2011, while West Indies claimed the title in 1975 and 1979. The most recent World Cup, held in 2019, witnessed England as the triumphant team. Below is a comprehensive list of all the winners of the One Day Cricket World Cup.

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List – From 1975 to 2023

From the inaugural World Cup in 1975 to the present year of 2023, provided below is the list of winners of the ODI Cricket World Cup.

1975EnglandWest IndiesAustraliaWest Indies won by 17 runs
1979EnglandWest IndiesEnglandWest Indies won by 92 runs
1983EnglandIndiaWest IndiesIndia won by 43 runs
1987India and PakistanAustraliaEnglandAustralia won by 7 runs
1992Australia and New ZealandPakistanEnglandPakistan won by 22 runs
1996Pakistan and IndiaSri LankaAustraliaSri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999EnglandAustraliaPakistanAustralia won by 8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustraliaIndiaAustralia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesAustraliaSri LankaAustralia won by 53 runs
2011India and BangladeshIndiaSri LankaIndia won by 6 wickets
2015Australia and New ZealandAustraliaNew ZealandAustralia won by 7 wickets
2019England and WalesEnglandNew ZealandMatch tied after regular play and super over; England won on boundary count

Breakdown of ODI Cricket World Cup Winners by Countries

Record-Breaking Success of Australia

Australia has established an unparalleled record in the ICC ODI World Cup, securing the title on five occasions and finishing as the runner-up twice. Their dominance in the tournament is unmatched.

India and West Indies’ Multiple Triumphs

Following Australia’s success, both India and West Indies have won the World Cup title twice, proving their mettle in the cricketing world. They have showcased exceptional skills and emerged victorious on multiple occasions.

Historic Victory for England

In the most recent edition of the ICC ODI Men’s World Cup held in 2019 in England and Wales, England achieved a historic milestone by clinching their maiden tournament victory. It was a significant moment as England had never won the World Cup before.

Overview of World Cup Victories by Countries

Here is an overview of the number of World Cup victories for each country:

  • Australia: 5 titles (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015)
  • India: 2 titles (1983, 2011)
  • West Indies: 2 titles (1975, 1979)
  • England: 1 title (2019)
  • New Zealand: 0 titles
  • Pakistan: 1 title (1992)
  • Sri Lanka: 1 title (1996)

This breakdown provides a comprehensive overview of the countries that have emerged victorious in the ODI Cricket World Cup.

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners – FAQs

Q1: How many teams participate in the ODI Cricket World Cup?

Ans: Ten teams compete for the renowned title in the One-Day International Cricket World Cup.

Q2: Has New Zealand ever won the ODI Cricket World Cup?

Ans: According to the most recent information, New Zealand has not won the ODI Cricket World Cup.

Q3: Which was the most recent ODI Cricket World Cup held, and who won it?

Ans: The most recent ODI Cricket World Cup was contested in England and Wales in 2019, with England emerging triumphant.


  • Pritipalit

    Priti Palit, an accomplished edtech writer, boasts a wealth of experience in preparing candidates for multiple government exams. With a passion for education and a keen eye for detail, she has contributed significantly to the field of online learning. Priti's expertise and dedication continue to empower aspiring individuals in their pursuit of success in government examinations.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top