Michael Rosen, Celebrated Writer, and Poet, Honored with PEN Pinter Prize 2023

Michael Rosen, a renowned writer for children and a performance poet, aged 77, has been honored with the esteemed PEN Pinter Prize 2023. This prestigious award is given to a writer from the United Kingdom, Ireland, or the Commonwealth who fearlessly reveals truths about the realities of modern existence through their body of work.

Introducing Michael Rosen

Michael Rosen, who held the position of British Children’s Laureate from 2007 to 2009, is celebrated for his efforts to make poetry engaging and relatable to children through his writings and performances. His poetry explores social, political, and ethical themes. In his book “On the Move: Poems about Migration,” published in 2020, Rosen examines migration from various perspectives. The collection, divided into four sections, draws inspiration from his own family’s experiences and provides a global outlook on the historical and contemporary migration movements across Europe.

Notable Works by Rosen

Michael Rosen has authored several highly acclaimed books, including “You Can’t Catch Me” (1982), which received the Signal Poetry Award. Another notable work is “You Wait Till I Am Older Than You” (1996), along with “Rover” (2007) and “Fantastic Mr Dahl” (2012), which delve into the life and writings of Roald Dahl. One of his most beloved picture books, “We’re Going on a Bear Hunt” (1989), illustrated by Helen Oxenbury, has become a timeless tale of triumph over challenges. This book has achieved remarkable success, selling over nine million copies worldwide and earning prestigious honors such as the NestlĂ© Smarties Book Prize.

The PEN Pinter Prize 2023: Recognizing Courageous Writers

The PEN Pinter Prize 2023 is awarded to a writer from the UK, Ireland, or the Commonwealth whose work fearlessly uncovers the truth about contemporary life. Additionally, the prize includes recognition of an international writer of courage selected by English PEN’s Writers at Risk Committee in association with the winner. This component of the prize is presented to an individual who has faced persecution for expressing their beliefs. Previous recipients of this esteemed award include Malorie Blackman (2022), Tsitsi Dangarembga (2021), Hanif Kureishi (2010), Salman Rushdie (2014), and Lemn Sissay (2019).

Michael Rosen’s win of the PEN Pinter Prize 2023 not only acknowledges his exceptional contributions to literature but also highlights his unwavering commitment to uncovering important aspects of the human experience. His remarkable body of work continues to inspire and engage readers of all ages, solidifying his legacy as a true literary luminary.

PEN Pinter Prize 2023 – FAQs

Q1: Who is Michael Rosen?

Ans: Famous children’s author and poet Michael Rosen also performs. He is renowned for making poetry interesting and approachable for kids. He held the position of British Children’s Laureate from 2007 to 2009. His writings delve into social, political, and moral issues.

Q2: What are some notable works by Michael Rosen?

Ans: “You Can’t Catch Me” (1982), which won the Signal Poetry Award, is one of several renowned novels by Michael Rosen. “You Wait Till I Am Older Than You” (1996), “Rover” (2007), and “Fantastic Mr. Dahl” (2012), which examine the life and works of Roald Dahl, are some other important works. His beloved children’s book “We’re Going on a Bear Hunt” (1989), which Helen Oxenbury illustrated, is a story of victory over adversity.

Q3: Who are some previous winners of the PEN Pinter Prize?

Ans: Malorie Blackman (2022), Tsitsi Dangarembga (2021), Hanif Kureishi (2010), Salman Rushdie (2014), and Lemn Sissay (2019) are some of the previous PEN Pinter Prize recipients. These authors have received praise for their fearless efforts in disclosing the reality of modern life.


  • Pritipalit

    Priti Palit, an accomplished edtech writer, boasts a wealth of experience in preparing candidates for multiple government exams. With a passion for education and a keen eye for detail, she has contributed significantly to the field of online learning. Priti's expertise and dedication continue to empower aspiring individuals in their pursuit of success in government examinations.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top