Rajasthan Royals’ Yashasvi Jaiswal scores fastest IPL 50 in 13 balls

Yashasvi Jaiswal, a player for Rajasthan Royals, has set a new record in the IPL 2023 by scoring the fastest 50 in IPL history, achieving this feat in just 13 balls during a match against Kolkata Knight Riders. The previous record for the fastest 50 was held by KL Rahul and Pat Cummins, who both reached 50 in 14 balls while playing for Kings XI Punjab and Kolkata Knight Riders. Although Jaiswal’s 13-ball 50 is the quickest in IPL history, it ranks as the second-fastest 50 in the T20 format. The record for the fastest 50 in T20s is held by former Indian batsman Yuvraj Singh, who achieved it in 12 balls against England in 2007.

About IPL

  • The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India.
  • It was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007 with the first season taking place in 2008.
  • The league currently consists of ten teams representing different Indian cities or states.
  • The IPL is considered the world’s most lucrative cricket league and attracts top players from around the world.
  • The league is played every year usually between March and May.
  • The tournament format includes a group stage followed by playoffs, with the winner being awarded the IPL Trophy and a cash prize.
  • This year’s tournament will run from the 31st of March to the 28th of May.
  • The Final match will be played on the 28th of May in Ahmedabad.

Fastest 50s in IPL

RankPlayerBallsMatchVenueMatch Date
1Yashasvi Jaiswal13Rajasthan Royals v Kolkata Knight RidersKolkata11 May 2023
2KL Rahul14Kings XI Punjab v Delhi CapitalsMohali08 April 2018
3PJ Cummins14Kolkata Knight Riders v Mumbai IndiansPune06 April 2022
4Yusuf Pathan15Kolkata Knight Riders v Sunrisers HyderabadKolkata24 May 2014
5Sunil Narine15Kolkata Knight Riders v Royal Challengers BangaloreBengaluru07 May 2017
6Nicholas Pooran15Lucknow Super Giants v Royal Challengers BangaloreBengaluru10 April 2023
7Suresh Raina16Chennai Super Kings v Kings XI PunjabMumbai30 May 2014
*As of 13th May 2023


What is the fastest 50 in IPL history?

Yashasvi Jaiswal holds the record for the fastest 50 in IPL history, achieving this feat in just 13 balls while playing for the Rajasthan Royals against the Kolkata Knight Riders at Eden Gardens in 2023.

What is the fastest 50 in T-20 history?

The fastest 50 in T20 cricket history was scored by Yuvraj Singh in 2007 during the ICC World Twenty20 match between India and England held at Durban, South Africa. Yuvraj smashed 6 sixes in an over of Stuart Broad and reached his fifty in just 12 balls. This remains a record to this day.

What is the fastest 50 in ODI history?

The fastest 50 in ODI history was scored by AB de Villiers of South Africa against the West Indies in Johannesburg on January 18, 2015. He reached his half-century off just 16 balls, breaking the previous record set by Sanath Jayasuriya, who scored 50 off 17 balls in 1996. De Villiers eventually scored 149 runs off 44 balls, which was the fastest century in ODI cricket at the time. His blistering knock included 16 sixes and 9 fours.

Which edition is Indian Premier League IPL 2023?

The ongoing 16th season of the Indian Premier League, a franchise Twenty20 cricket league in India, is known as the 2023 Indian Premier League or IPL 16. It is also called the Tata IPL 2023 due to sponsorship reasons.


  • Shubham Mittal

    Shubham Mittal is a renowned current affairs writer and expert in government exam preparation, inspiring readers with insightful articles and guiding aspirants with his expertise.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top