Paterson Joseph Wins RSL Christopher Bland Prize 2023 for Debut Novel

Renowned actor-author Paterson Joseph has been awarded the prestigious RSL Christopher Bland Prize 2023 for his debut novel titled ‘The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho.’ This remarkable achievement marks the fifth year of the award’s existence and recognizes Joseph’s exceptional contribution to the world of literature.

About the RSL Christopher Bland Prize

The RSL Christopher Bland Prize is an annual literary award that celebrates debut writers who have published their work of fiction or non-fiction at the age of 50 or above. Established in 2018, the prize serves as a tribute to the memory of Sir Christopher Bland, a prominent British politician. The award comes with a cash prize of £10,000 (approximately 10 lakh rupees), providing well-deserved recognition and support to emerging talents.

About ‘The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho’

Joseph’s award-winning novel, ‘The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho,’ is a captivating work of historical fiction. The book delves into the life of Charles Ignatius Sancho, an influential figure in English history who holds the distinction of being the first Black man to cast his vote in England. With meticulous storytelling and vivid characterization, Joseph brings to life the compelling story of Sancho, shedding light on his experiences, struggles, and triumphs.

Unveiling Paterson Joseph

Paterson D. Joseph, the talented author behind ‘The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho,’ is an English actor and writer born in London, England. With a successful career in both stage and screen, Joseph has garnered critical acclaim for his versatile performances. In addition to his literary accomplishments, he recently took on the esteemed role of Chancellor at Oxford Brookes University, further solidifying his influence and contributions to the arts.


Paterson Joseph’s win of the RSL Christopher Bland Prize 2023 for his debut novel is a testament to his exceptional storytelling abilities and literary prowess. His work not only shines a spotlight on an important historical figure but also demonstrates the power of fiction to educate, inspire, and ignite conversations about diverse experiences. The award reinforces the significance of recognizing and nurturing talent at any age, emphasizing the importance of lifelong creativity and dedication to one’s craft. Paterson Joseph’s remarkable achievement serves as an inspiration for aspiring authors and showcases the enduring impact of literature on our society.

Paterson Joseph Wins RSL Christopher Bland Prize 2023 – FAQs

Q1: What is the RSL Christopher Bland Prize?

Ans: The RSL Christopher Bland Prize is a yearly prize given to a first-time author for a work of fiction or nonfiction that was released when they were 50 years old or older.

Q2: What is Paterson Joseph’s debut novel about?

Ans: Charles Ignatius Sancho, the first Black man to vote in England, is the subject of Paterson Joseph’s first book, “The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho,” which is a work of historical fiction.

Q3: What other notable achievements has Paterson Joseph recently had?

Ans: Adding to his record of successes, Paterson Joseph was just sworn in as the Chancellor of Oxford Brookes University.


  • Pritipalit

    Priti Palit, an accomplished edtech writer, boasts a wealth of experience in preparing candidates for multiple government exams. With a passion for education and a keen eye for detail, she has contributed significantly to the field of online learning. Priti's expertise and dedication continue to empower aspiring individuals in their pursuit of success in government examinations.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top