G20 Park with ‘Waste to Wonder’ Concept Coming Up in Delhi in Line with PM’s Vision

G20 Waste to Art Park Chanakyapuri

India has proposed the construction of a G20 park in Delhi, aimed at showcasing global unity on the path of development. The park’s concept development is being closely monitored by PM Modi. The park will be located at the Shanti Path and Ring Road junction, and will be based on the theme of “One Earth, One Family, One Future.”

  • It will feature sculptures depicting the national animals and birds of the G20 countries, created using the “waste to wonder” concept.
  • The sculptures will be made from scrap and waste materials sourced from New Delhi Municipal Council’s yards and other agencies.
  • Lalit Kala Academy will be responsible for promoting and creating the artwork projects. Each sculpture will have metal art pieces with dimensions of 5-7 feet by 4-5 feet. The proposal is set to promote global unity and environmental sustainability.
  • Delhi’s reputation as a city that values art and culture will be enhanced by the construction of the G-20 park, according to officials.
  • Artists from several Indian states, including Madhya Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Gujarat, Haryana, Karnataka, Kerala, Odisha, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal, are participating in the creation of national birds and animals of various G-20 countries.
  • The Indian peacock, American bison, Brazilian jaguar, Chinese red-crowned crane, Saudi Arabian camel, Korean magpie, Australian emu, Canadian grey jay, Russian brown bear, and Mexican golden eagle are among the animals being depicted.
  • The metal sculptures, which range in size from 5-7 feet by 4-5 feet, will be made using the “waste to wonder” concept, with scrap and other waste materials sourced from the New Delhi Municipal Council’s yards and other agencies.
  • The Lalit Kala Academy will be in-charge of promoting and overseeing the artwork projects, which are part of the Waste to Wonder Art Camp.
  • The G20 park in Delhi will feature artwork created by a team of national-level artists who specialise in waste-to-wonder projects.
  • Each sculpture will be meticulously crafted by hand and given a high-quality finish to showcase the transformation of waste into art.
  • To prevent theft or damage, each piece will be securely installed on a base platform with an accompanying information plate.
  • The plate will include details about the animal depicted in the sculpture, its appearance in real life, and its significance to the country it represents. Additionally, the names of the artists involved in creating the piece will be displayed.

About G20

  • The G20, also known as the Group of Twenty, is an international organisation consisting of the world’s major developed and developing economies. It is an intergovernmental forum for cooperation and consultation on various economic and financial issues.
  • The G20 was established in 1999 following the financial crisis of the late 1990s, which primarily affected East and Southeast Asia. The group’s primary goal is to promote global financial stability by engaging middle-income nations. The G-20 consists of 20 countries that jointly represent 60% of the world’s population, 80% of the global GDP, and 75% of global trade.
  • Members: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States and the EU.
  • The G20 has been holding annual summits since 2008, bringing together the heads of government or state, finance ministers, foreign ministers, and other high-ranking officials of its member countries. In addition, the European Commission and the European Central Bank represent the European Union at these summits.
  • Brazil and South Africa have been selected to host the G20 summits in 2024 and 2025, respectively.
  • Starting from December 1, 2022, India took over the presidency of the G-20 grouping from Indonesia for a year-long term. This provides a significant platform for India to make valuable contributions to the global agenda on crucial issues of international significance.
  • India has invited Bangladesh, Egypt, Mauritius, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Singapore, Spain and UAE as Guest Countries. 
  • India, along with Indonesia and Brazil, is currently a part of the G-20 Troika, which is a group of three countries responsible for the coordination and continuity of the G-20’s work over a three-year period.
    • This marks the first time that the Troika consists of three developing and emerging economies, giving them an opportunity to play a more significant role in shaping the global economic agenda.


  • Shubham Mittal

    Shubham Mittal is a renowned current affairs writer and expert in government exam preparation, inspiring readers with insightful articles and guiding aspirants with his expertise.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top