Govt shuffles cabinet: Kiren Rijiju exited as Union Law Minister

Kiren Rijiju, who previously served as the Union Law Minister, has now transitioned to the Ministry of Earth Sciences. Arjun Ram Meghwal has been given the independent charge as Minister of State in the Ministry of Law and Justice, in addition to his current responsibilities. Rijiju assumed the role of Law and Justice Minister on July 8, 2021, after serving as the Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Youth Affairs and Sports from May 2019 to July 2021. Jitendra Singh, the Union Minister, was previously overseeing the Ministry of Earth Sciences.

About Kiren Rijiju

Kiren Rijiju is an Indian politician from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). He was born on November 19, 1971, in Nafra, Arunachal Pradesh, India. He comes from a political family, as his father was a renowned politician in Arunachal Pradesh.

Rijiju began his political career in the late 1990s and gradually rose through the ranks. In 2004, he was elected as a Member of Parliament (MP) in the 14th Lok Sabha from the Arunachal West constituency. He has since been re-elected as an MP in subsequent elections.

Throughout his political career, Rijiju has held several ministerial positions. He served as the Minister of State for Home Affairs from 2014 to 2019, where he played a crucial role in matters related to internal security, border issues, and disaster management.

In May 2019, Rijiju was appointed as the Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Youth Affairs and Sports. During his tenure, he focused on promoting sports, supporting athletes, and enhancing youth engagement in various activities.

Rijiju is known for his active participation in social media platforms, where he interacts with the public and shares updates on government initiatives and policies. He has gained popularity for his straightforward and transparent approach to addressing issues and advocating for the welfare of the people.

As a prominent leader from the northeastern region of India, Rijiju has been instrumental in promoting the development and welfare of the region. He has been actively involved in addressing the concerns and aspirations of the people of Arunachal Pradesh and other northeastern states.


How many cabinet ministers are there in the Indian government?

Currently, there are 29 cabinet ministers headed by Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi.

Which ministry is headed by the Prime Minister?

The Prime Minister of India heads the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances, and Pensions, commonly known as the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT). This ministry is responsible for the administration of the Indian Administrative Service (IAS), the Indian Police Service (IPS), and other central civil services. It also handles matters related to public grievances, personnel policies, and the overall functioning of the government machinery. The Prime Minister’s direct oversight of this ministry highlights the importance placed on effective governance and public service delivery in the country.


  • Shubham Mittal

    Shubham Mittal is a renowned current affairs writer and expert in government exam preparation, inspiring readers with insightful articles and guiding aspirants with his expertise.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top