IPL 2023 Final: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Beats Gujarat Titians (GT)

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) claimed their fifth Indian Premier League (IPL) title, matching the record set by Mumbai Indians. They achieved a thrilling five-wicket victory over the Gujarat Titans (GT), setting off a joyous celebration with fireworks. Dhoni, the captain of CSK, received the IPL trophy and then handed it to Rayudu and Jadeja. The Gujarat Titans batted first, managing to score 214 for four, with B Sai Sudharsan’s exceptional innings of 96 runs off 47 balls. However, due to rain, CSK’s target was adjusted to 171 runs to be chased within 15 overs.

Because of heavy rainfall, the final match, originally scheduled for Sunday, was postponed to the reserve day, which was Monday. In the end, CSK emerged triumphant against the defending champions, using the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern (DLS) Method. The packed Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad witnessed an exhilarating encounter, as CSK completed their mission on the final ball. This match holds particular significance as it may mark the legendary Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s last appearance in the T20 league.

IPL 2023 Final

  • Gujarat Titans (GT): 214/4 (in 20 overs)
  • Chennai Super Kings (CSK): 171/5 (in 15 overs*) (*Target adjusted by DLS Method )
  • MS Dhoni claims the Winner’s cheque of INR 20 crore.
  • Hardik Pandya claims the Runner-up shield and cheque of INR 12.5 crore.

IPL Final Match Awardees

  • Player of the Match Award – Devon Conway
  • Catch of the Match Award – MS Dhoni
  • Longest Six Award – Sai Sudharsan
  • Maximum Fours Award – Sai Sudharsan
  • Most Valuable Asset of the Match Award – Sai Sudharsan
  • Gamechanger of the Match Award – Sai Sudharsan
  • Electric Striker of the Match Award – Ajinkya Rahane

IPL 2023-Full List of Award Winners

  • Best Venues of the Season – Eden Gardens and Wankhede Stadium
  • Orange Cap – Shubman Gill (890 Runs in 17 Matches)
  • Purple Cap – Mohammad Shami (28 Wickets in 16 Matches)
  • Fairplay of the Season – Ajinkya Rahane
  • Catch of the Season – Rashid Khan
  • Longest Six of the Season – Faf du Plessis (115m)
  • Most Fours – Shubman Gill (84)
  • Most Valuable Player of the Season – Shubman Gill
  • Dream11 Gamechanger of the Season – Shubman Gill
  • Super Striker of the Season – Glenn Maxwell
  • Emerging Player of the Year – Yashasvi Jaiswal

IPL Winners List from 2008-2023

2008Rajasthan RoyalsChennai Super KingsMumbai
2009Deccan ChargersRoyal Challengers BangaloreJohannesburg
2010Chennai Super KingsMumbai IndiansMumbai
2011Chennai Super KingsRoyal Challengers BangaloreChennai
2012Kolkata Knight RidersChennai Super KingsChennai
2013Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsKolkata
2014Kolkata Knight RidersKings XI PunjabBengaluru
2015Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsKolkata
2016Sunrisers HyderabadRoyal Challengers BangaloreBengaluru
2017Mumbai IndiansRising Pune SupergiantsHyderabad
2018Chennai Super KingsSunrisers HyderabadMumbai
2019Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsHyderabad
2020Mumbai IndiansDelhi CapitalsDubai
2021Chennai Super KingsKolkata Knight RidersDubai
2022Gujarat TitiansRajasthan RoyalsAhmedabad
2023Chennai Super KingsGujarat TitiansAhmedabad


Who was the winner of the maiden IPL?

The winner of the maiden Indian Premier League (IPL) was the Rajasthan Royals. In the inaugural season of IPL held in 2008, the Rajasthan Royals emerged as the champions by defeating the Chennai Super Kings in a thrilling final match. Under the captaincy of Shane Warne, the Rajasthan Royals showcased exceptional cricketing skills and team spirit throughout the tournament, making them the first-ever IPL champions.

In which places the IPL has taken place outside of India?

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has taken place in a few locations outside of India. Due to various circumstances, such as general elections in India or security concerns, certain IPL matches or even entire seasons have been held in other countries. The following are the locations where the IPL has been hosted outside of India:
1. South Africa (2009): The entire season of IPL 2009 was held in South Africa due to a clash with the Indian general elections. Matches were played in venues like Johannesburg, Cape Town, Durban, and Pretoria.
2. United Arab Emirates (2014): The first half of IPL 2014 was held in the UAE due to security concerns during the Indian general elections. Matches were played in stadiums located in Abu Dhabi, Dubai, and Sharjah.
3. United Arab Emirates (2020 & 2021): The entire IPL 2020 and 2021 seasons were conducted in the UAE due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The bio-secure bubble and controlled environment in the UAE allowed for the smooth organization of matches. Venues included Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah.


  • Shubham Mittal

    Shubham Mittal is a renowned current affairs writer and expert in government exam preparation, inspiring readers with insightful articles and guiding aspirants with his expertise.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top