Uttarakhand CM Pushkar Singh Dhami Inaugurates National Homoeopathic Convention ‘Homeocon 2023’

Homeocon 2023

On 14th May, Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami inaugurated the National Homeopathic Conference ‘Homeocon-2023’ at Doon University in Dehradun.

More about the News

  • Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami inaugurated the National Homeopathic Conference ‘Homeocon-2023’ at Doon University in Dehradun.
  • The Chief Minister launched a documentary on homeopathy during the event.
  • Doctors who have made notable contributions to the field of homeopathy were honored by the Chief Minister.
  • Chief Minister Dhami highlighted the effectiveness and affordability of homeopathy, citing Samuel Christian Hahnemann as the father of homeopathy.
  • The Chief Minister acknowledged the efforts of Prime Minister Narendra Modi in promoting traditional systems of medicine, including the establishment of the Ministry of AYUSH.
  • Homeopathy has been recognized by the World Health Organization as the second most prevalent system of medicine globally.
  • The Chief Minister emphasized the importance of homeopathy in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic and expressed the government’s commitment to establishing the region as a significant AYUSH hub.

Ministry of AYUSH

  • The Ministry of AYUSH is a government ministry in India that is responsible for the development, promotion, and regulation of traditional systems of medicine and holistic healthcare practices.
  • AYUSH stands for Ayurveda, Yoga and Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha, and Homeopathy.
  • The ministry was established on 9th November 2014 with the aim of preserving and promoting traditional Indian medical systems.
  • It works towards integrating these systems with modern medicine and healthcare practices.
  • The Ministry of AYUSH plays a crucial role in formulating policies, conducting research, promoting education and training, and ensuring the quality and safety of AYUSH products and services.
  • It also collaborates with national and international organizations to spread awareness and enhance the global recognition of traditional Indian medicine systems.

About Uttarakhand State

  • Capital – Dehradun (Winter) & Gairsain (Summer)
  • Governor – Gurmit Singh
  • Chief Minister – Pushkar Singh Dhami
  • Uttarakhand became the 27th state of India on November 9, 2000, after it was separated from northern Uttar Pradesh. On January 1, 2007, the state’s name was changed from Uttaranchal to Uttarakhand.
  • The state is located in the foothills of the Himalayan mountain ranges and is mostly hilly. It shares international borders with China (Tibet) to the north and Nepal to the east.
  • The state is drained by various rivers of the Ganga system, including the Ganga, Yamuna, and Ramganga.
  • Uttarakhand is known as the “Land of the Gods” (Devbhumi) because it is home to several ancient temples and pilgrimage centers such as Kedarnath, Badrinath, Yamunotri, Gangotri, Hemkund Sahib, and Haridwar. These places attract millions of devotees and tourists from all over the world every year. 
  • The state is also known for its scenic beauty, rich biodiversity, and adventure tourism activities such as trekking, mountaineering, river rafting, and skiing.

Homeocon 2023 – FAQs

What is Uttarakhand famously known as?

Uttarakhand is famously known as “Devbhoomi” or “The Land of the Gods” due to its rich spiritual and religious significance. The state is home to several revered Hindu pilgrimage sites, including the Char Dham Yatra (comprising Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath, and Badrinath), Rishikesh, Haridwar, and Hemkund Sahib. Uttarakhand’s majestic mountains, pristine rivers, and lush forests also make it a popular destination for adventure tourism and nature lovers. The state’s scenic beauty, coupled with its cultural and spiritual heritage, has earned it the reputation of being a divine land, attracting pilgrims, tourists, and seekers of spiritual solace from around the world.

Why Uttarakhand has two capitals?

Uttarakhand has two capitals, namely Dehradun and Gairsain, due to historical and administrative reasons.
Dehradun has been the provisional capital of Uttarakhand since the formation of the state in the year 2000. It serves as the administrative and judicial center of the state. Dehradun is well-developed and has the necessary infrastructure, government offices, educational institutions, and transportation facilities. It is located in the Garhwal region of Uttarakhand.
Gairsain is a small town located in the Chamoli district of Uttarakhand. It holds significance as a cultural and historical center. The demand for Gairsain to be recognized as the permanent capital of Uttarakhand arose from the perspective of regional balance and decentralization of power. Gairsain is situated in the Kumaon region, and its selection as a second capital aimed to address the aspirations of people from both the Garhwal and Kumaon divisions.
The idea of having two capitals was to ensure equitable development across different regions of Uttarakhand and promote a sense of inclusivity. The state government conducts some legislative sessions and official functions in Gairsain to acknowledge its importance as a cultural and regional center. However, Dehradun remains the primary administrative capital of Uttarakhand, housing most government offices and institutions.


  • Shubham Mittal

    Shubham Mittal is a renowned current affairs writer and expert in government exam preparation, inspiring readers with insightful articles and guiding aspirants with his expertise.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top